BACK ONLINE…MAY 30, 2014

Good day everyone!

Just got internet service at my new place.  I should have a tropical forecast out sometime Sunday afternoon.  As far as this season, I will have to work it around my new job I start Monday.  Will most likely be in the afternoons sometime.  The job is only part time, so  may be able to have some leeway on some days as far as a morning synopsis.

Have a safe and blessed day!

“Storm”

About palmharborforecastcenter

I am a Tropical Forecast meteorologist, providing hurricane forecasts during the Atlantic Hurricane Season. I retired from the U.S. Coast Guard in July of 2001. Meteorology became my passion in high school, and I have continued my educational background in meteorology since 1996, when I undertook the study of Tropical Meteorology. While working toward my degree, I had to unexpectedly withdraw from college due to my oldest sons medical reasons. I do however, meet the educational criteria of the AMS to be recognized as a meteorologist. Studies include, but are not limited to the Navy Aerographers Mate course, Naval METOC meteorology course, Meteorology 2010 Sophomore level course while attending St. Petersburg College, Clearwater, FL., Basic Forecasting course for operational meteorologists from Rapid WX, meteorology institute, a four month meteorological internship, and extensive research on numerous meteorological topics such as the MJO, NAO, satellite imagery interpretation, etc. I have been forecasting Tropical Weather (Tropical Storms and Hurricanes) since 1996, with my main client being three different Coast Guard Commands.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to BACK ONLINE…MAY 30, 2014

  1. davidebaker says:

    Congrats on the job Chief. My God bless you in your new endeavors.

  2. originallt says:

    Great news , Storm. Hope that part-time job will get you enough income. Maybe it will grow into full time, you never know. Also glad your move is done. Moving is a “hassle”!

  3. Monty says:

    Congrats Storm on your job and successful move!! It’s great to have you back!!

  4. dellamom says:

    Congrats on the new job! I don’t know if you’ve been able to check on the weather we’ve been having in SE Louisiana, spreading into the Mobile area over the past few days, but it looks to me like circulation is centered in the rear ankle area of the Louisiana boot, and just sitting there sending bands of weather over us … Northshore two days ago, Southshore yesterday, Northshore again today, with the Western edge of Lake Pontchartrain taking some pretty big hits. If anyone on-site has any idea whether this is actually what I’m seeing and, if so, how long it might sit there, I’m all ears! Prayers to Storm and your family in the midst of all of your changes.

    • Mac says:

      I’ll add my dittos on the congrats, Storm! Dellamom, the upper low pressure system that’s been pounding our area – a little over 14 inches so far at a personal weather station about 2 blocks from my house here in NW Covington – is moving to the South/SouthWest, and should clear our area by sometime late Sunday or mid-day Monday.

    • Dellamom,
      There is an elongated trof of low pressure in the GOMEX…it’s responsible for sending in the rain

Leave a Reply

