POSSIBLE COASTAL DEVELOPMENT THIS WEEK…FEB. 09, 2014…7:35 P.M. EST

Good evening everyone!

I will attempt to have a post tomorrow on a possible upcoming coastal development for WED / THU time frame.  ALL of the Global Models indicate a system close to the coastal area from the Tidewater region, with the system deepening as it moves off to the NE.  The only outlier is the GFS at the moment, which has this low further to the east.  This could change on the next few runs of the GFS.  I will be monitoring this situation over the next 24-36 hours and will try and provide the latest information regarding this.

On another note, as soon as I have completed researching various items, regarding the upcoming hurricane season, I will be issuing a pre-seasonal forecast.

Have a great evening!

“Storm”

About palmharborforecastcenter

I am a Tropical Forecast meteorologist, providing hurricane forecasts during the Atlantic Hurricane Season. I retired from the U.S. Coast Guard in July of 2001. Meteorology became my passion in high school, and I have continued my educational background in meteorology since 1996, when I undertook the study of Tropical Meteorology. While working toward my degree, I had to unexpectedly withdraw from college due to my oldest sons medical reasons. I do however, meet the educational criteria of the AMS to be recognized as a meteorologist. Studies include, but are not limited to the Navy Aerographers Mate course, Naval METOC meteorology course, Meteorology 2010 Sophomore level course while attending St. Petersburg College, Clearwater, FL., Basic Forecasting course for operational meteorologists from Rapid WX, meteorology institute, a four month meteorological internship, and extensive research on numerous meteorological topics such as the MJO, NAO, satellite imagery interpretation, etc. I have been forecasting Tropical Weather (Tropical Storms and Hurricanes) since 1996, with my main client being three different Coast Guard Commands.
This entry was posted in COASTAL STORM SYNOPSIS. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to POSSIBLE COASTAL DEVELOPMENT THIS WEEK…FEB. 09, 2014…7:35 P.M. EST

  1. originallt says:

    Thanks Storm, hi Monty. Yes we are in for a possible big storm here by late Wed. into Thursday. looking foreword to your analysis. We got a total of about 15″ of snow last week from two storms. I could go for one more “big one” and then that’s it! Of course what will be , will be, just hope you, storm can tell us beforehand! Looking foreword to your early season Tropical outlook too. Thanks again, LT.

  2. Monty says:

    Thanks Storm…can’t wait for GFS to come around. Not welcome up there in NEUS…not after the winter they have had. You have called this thing damn near 100% Storm…no need to doubt you now. I’ll be curious on your 2014 Atlantic Hurricane outlook. Hopefully…I’ll be down in IAH for the show. God Bless Senior Chief!!

Leave a Reply

