UPCOMING FORECAST

Greetings!

I will have an update tomorrow on the upcoming coastal development.  Had a synopsis all typed out, went to post graphics for it, and the whole synopsis got wiped out.

“Storm”

About palmharborforecastcenter

I am a Tropical Forecast meteorologist, providing hurricane forecasts during the Atlantic Hurricane Season. I retired from the U.S. Coast Guard in July of 2001. Meteorology became my passion in high school, and I have continued my educational background in meteorology since 1996, when I undertook the study of Tropical Meteorology. While working toward my degree, I had to unexpectedly withdraw from college due to my oldest sons medical reasons. I do however, meet the educational criteria of the AMS to be recognized as a meteorologist. Studies include, but are not limited to the Navy Aerographers Mate course, Naval METOC meteorology course, Meteorology 2010 Sophomore level course while attending St. Petersburg College, Clearwater, FL., Basic Forecasting course for operational meteorologists from Rapid WX, meteorology institute, a four month meteorological internship, and extensive research on numerous meteorological topics such as the MJO, NAO, satellite imagery interpretation, etc. I have been forecasting Tropical Weather (Tropical Storms and Hurricanes) since 1996, with my main client being three different Coast Guard Commands.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to UPCOMING FORECAST

  1. dellamom says:

    We have frequent power outages at my office, so we have gotten into the habit of saving every few minutes. Nothing like having a whole lotta creativity wiped out to ruin your good mood! And don’t even get me started on accidentally hitting the return key instead of the tab and telling the computer not to save something you’ve been working half the day on. And if I am working on something massive that just has to go today, I have learned to save it periodically to my desktop and put the save time on each subsequent save, so that if the power goes out and the server goes down and we can’t get the server back up right away, I have still got the latest save to keep going with. At those times, I have to keep reminding myself that before office computers (yes, before office computers, when the dinosaurs and I both roamed and we actually had to use typewriters and carbon paper), a second draft meant retyping the whole thing. And spell check was however many secretaries as you had originals sitting together and reading while an additional secretary read from the marked-up draft or the original the information was copied from (12 copies meant four originals with three carbons each). So, Storm, the gist of this is that, while computer hiccups are infuriating and time-wasting by today’s standards, it beats all heck out of pre-computer days. Good night all, and good luck LT and Monty with the weather headed to y’all. Stay safe, my friends.

  2. originallt says:

    Thanks Storm, I know that can be frustrating. As Monty says, better luck Tomorrow. As for me here in the North East. It looks like we will have a strong coastal storm to deal with. Our major concern is the temperature, we will be right near the rain/snow line. As of now most computers give me about 11-14″ of snow here in lower Fairfield County CT. Much more as you head towards Boston. NYC is pegged right now for 8-10″. I’m looking foreword to your synopsis on that coastal development. Take care Storm and Monty and all.

  3. That’s gotta suck!! Oh well…there’s not much you can do. We’re bracing for a potential significant Winter WX event in DEN…we need it…Models look like they sped it up a little to the Fri/Sat time frame. Better luck tomorrow Storm!!

Leave a Reply

